“Lurkers” vs “Silent participants”?

Image“Lurkers” vs “Silent participants”?

Here are a few other terms that could be used:

vicarious learners?
silent participants?
viewer?
Non-public user?
legitimate peripheral participator?
eyeballers?
virtual participant?
marginal participant?
onlooker?
passive observer?
cognitive apprentices?
potential member?
proximate member?
sympathiser?
supporter?
listener?
tacit member?

See Let’s get more positive about the term ‘lurker’

Click to access lurkerprojectcopworkshopspring03rev.pdf

Which term best reflects the degree/ style/ of learning? If you read a book, but never talk about it, have you learned any less?

Best wishes

Charlotte

One thought on ““Lurkers” vs “Silent participants”?

  1. I love this list – I wish I’d come across it before I wrote my #ocTEL Week 1 post – “lurking, moderate(ly), memorable” . Thanks for all the interesting links and posts on this site. A great resource for a quiet participant like me!

Leave a comment